Once A Month Freezer Cooking

Two of my goals for 2010 are to be more mindful of what I put into my body and to manage my home more efficiently. I am hopeful that freezer cooking with help me in both areas. With being in Nursing school, I am away from home 3 evenings a week. I wasn’t prepared this past fall and ended up eating drive-thru more times than I care to admit. Inspired by the ladies at Money Saving Mom and Fishmama, as well as Once A Month Mom I am hopeful that this endeavor will help me to eat healthier and save money.

My plan is to prepare all of these items on Sunday when I have someone to watch my 2 & 3 year old children. Some of the recipes I am doubling or tripling and I will note that with the recipe. I will update once I have finished on how the day went and post pics of my accomplishments that day. These are all new recipes for my family so I will also post after we try each one on how I, my husband, and children liked or didn’t like it.

Breakfasts

Chocolate Chip Cream Cheese Coffee Cake x2

Banana Sour Cream Muffins x2

Breakfast Burritos x2 DONE

Whole Wheat Orange Spice Muffins x2

Whole Wheat Waffles x3

Lunch

Pizza Roll-ups x2

Spinach tortellini soup x2 DONE

Ham & Potato pockets x2

Taco Soup x2 DONE

Chicken & Corn Quesadillas x4

Dinner

Baked Chicken Fingers x2 DONE

Mexican Stuffed Shells DONE

Mandarin Orange Chicken x2

Zesty BBQ Slow Cooker Chicken x2 DONE

Baked Rigatoni

Chicken Enchiladas x2

Chicken & Rice Pilaf DONE

Marinated Chicken-Put 4 boneless/skinless breasts & 1 bottle Italian dressing in freezer bag. On the day you want to eat it throw it in the crockpot on low 6-8 hrs and serve with rice and veggies. DONE

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Breanna
    Feb 06, 2010 @ 00:51:44

    Hello Shauna!
    What a great idea to do freezer cooking! I’m going to have to try that. Are you using a specific ‘freezer cooking’ cookbook or are you just making things you already know freeze well? I look forward to reading your new blog! Mine are over here at… http://www.homeschoolbloggercom/theadamsfamilyfaith for my ‘Raising Rockstars’ page and then our family update one at http://www.homeschoolblogger.com/theadamsfamily
    Blogging is fun! See you at MOPS!
    Blessings! 🙂
    Breanna

    Reply

Leave a comment